Samsung LA40B650 LCD TV Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Samsung LA40B650 LCD TV Review

Post by Doctor Inferno on 29th May 2009, 8:14 am

After months of waiting for a new television, I got a new Full HD LCD TV - The Samsung Series 6: LA40B650T1M.

Pictures












Product Features and Technical Details

Product Features

  • 40-inch LCD HDTV with full HD 1080p resolution for the sharpest picture possible and red Touch of Color design
  • Auto Motion Plus 100Hz for amazingly fluid motion, 100,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio, 4ms response time, Wide Color Enhancer 3 for more vivid colors
  • Flickr, YouTube via your broadband connection; side-mounted USB port for displaying JPEG/MPEG files and listening to MP3 audio
  • Inputs: 4 HDMI-CEC, 2 component, 2 composite, 1 PC, 2 USB, 1 Ethernet, 1 optical digital audio output
  • Includes removable stand; measures 39.2 x 27.8 x 10 inches with stand; 15-watt x 2 bottom mounted speakers with subwoofer



Technical Details

  • 100,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio
  • Fast 4ms response time
  • Picture-in-Picture
  • Game Mode
  • Crystal neck Swivel Stand
  • 4 HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) version 1.3: (3 rear/1 side)
  • PC input
  • USB: 2 (side)
  • DIMENSIONS (WXHXD): TV with stand: 995.1 x 707.0 x 255.0mm, TV without stand: 995.1 x 650.4 x 78.6mm
  • WEIGHT: TV with stand weight: 19.1 Kg.





My Review

The Good
After months of searching I have found that Samsung TVs have one of the best designs on the television market. The sleek and modern design matches any type of furniture. The touch of red on the perimeter TV frame looks awesome to me. Everything comes in place with what Samsung call their Crystal Design. The base of the stand is totally made of glass!

The picture quality is stunning right out of the box. I also found out that the picture quality is a lot more sharper on analogue channels compared to other LCD TVs, all this is enhanced by what Samsung call the Ultra Clear Panel. What's best is that videos which are not sharp, become sharp! The contrast is really stunning when it comes to movies with dark scenes. The colour is vibrant and vivid, you can even change the settings to make it look better than the real thing.

The speakers are mediocre, if you are not an audiophile, there shouldn't be a problem. Good thing about this speakers is that, it's placed below the TV so it can't be seen.

One very good feature which comes bundled with this TV is that it is the only TV on the market which allows you to play movies, songs and photos through a flash drive or HDD on the USB ports. It is one of the only TVs on the market which allows you to play a wide range videos formats, e.g. mkv, avi, mp4.

This TV also has a feature which allows you to play Youtube videos. Not really useful for me, but good for the "youtube people".


The Bad
Movie played through flash devices do not support the DTS audio format. A little too expensive. Speakers could be of higher quality.




The bottom line
Overall, a very good LCD TV with sharp and vibrant picture quality and advanced features. I compared this TV side to side with a Sony TV of the same price and found that colours to be much more vibrant and crisp. I'd say it's worth the buy.




Rating
9/10 - Could be a little cheaper though.


EDIT 26 may 2010

After using this TV for about a year, it's still running fine and has not given me any problems.




If you have any questions about this TV, please feel free to drop by this topic. You have to register for free here: http://www.GeekPolice.net/profile.forum?mode=register to post a question.


Cheers!


Last edited by Doctor Inferno on 26th May 2010, 12:20 pm; edited 3 times in total


Please be a GeekPolice fan on Facebook!



Have we helped you? Help us! | Doctor by day, ninja by night.

Doctor Inferno
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 11976
Joined Joined : 2007-12-26
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 Home Premium and Ultimate X64
Protection Protection : Kaspersky PURE and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
Points Points : 104630
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Samsung LA40B650 LCD TV Review

Post by Sir $wat on 29th May 2009, 10:20 am

very well written and nice addition to the forum



Sir $wat
Top Dog
Top Dog

Posts Posts : 2078
Joined Joined : 2008-08-16
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows XP Professional SP3
Protection Protection : Panda Cloud
Points Points : 34201
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Samsung LA40B650 LCD TV Review

Post by Doctor Inferno on 29th May 2009, 10:38 am

Thank you Sir $wat. Smile


Please be a GeekPolice fan on Facebook!



Have we helped you? Help us! | Doctor by day, ninja by night.

Doctor Inferno
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 11976
Joined Joined : 2007-12-26
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 Home Premium and Ultimate X64
Protection Protection : Kaspersky PURE and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
Points Points : 104630
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Samsung LA40B650 LCD TV Review

Post by eldred on 8th June 2009, 3:56 pm

HOW IS KLV-40W550 SONY LCD COMPARED TO THIS MODEL

eldred
Beginner
Beginner

Posts Posts : 1
Joined Joined : 2009-06-08
OS OS : xp
Points Points : 27411
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Samsung LA40B650 LCD TV Review

Post by Doctor Inferno on 9th June 2009, 3:29 am

If you play movies to flash drives, I would recommend the Samsung TV.


Please be a GeekPolice fan on Facebook!



Have we helped you? Help us! | Doctor by day, ninja by night.

Doctor Inferno
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 11976
Joined Joined : 2007-12-26
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 Home Premium and Ultimate X64
Protection Protection : Kaspersky PURE and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
Points Points : 104630
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Samsung LA40B650 LCD TV Review

Post by ET2.0 on 4th October 2009, 7:53 am

I want to know whether anybody has tried out the reƖ DLNA feature of the LA40B650? Is it easy to setup and configure the TV to be added into a reƖ home network? I was told you need to purchase the Samsung reƖ adapter separately in order for this work. Can any reƖ USB adapter work or does it need to be a special one from Samsung?

ET2.0
Beginner
Beginner

Posts Posts : 2
Joined Joined : 2009-10-04
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : XP
Points Points : 26232
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Samsung LA40B650 LCD TV Review

Post by Lance(HAOH) on 26th December 2009, 10:57 am

Looks cool. Good choice Doctor!

Lance(HAOH)
Intermediate
Intermediate

Posts Posts : 138
Joined Joined : 2008-12-12
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows XP Professional, Windows 7 Enterprise, Windows 8 Professional WMC, Ubuntu Linux
Protection Protection : Avast 8
Points Points : 30210
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Samsung LA40B650 LCD TV Review

Post by Doctor Inferno on 26th December 2009, 1:44 pm

Thanks! :smile2:


Please be a GeekPolice fan on Facebook!



Have we helped you? Help us! | Doctor by day, ninja by night.

Doctor Inferno
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 11976
Joined Joined : 2007-12-26
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 Home Premium and Ultimate X64
Protection Protection : Kaspersky PURE and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
Points Points : 104630
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Samsung LA40B650 LCD TV Review

Post by hedy on 26th May 2010, 2:17 am

Dear Doctor Inferno,

I was seaching for reviews for Samsung LCD and found your review it is excellent and clear.
I will be purchasing this Samsung
It sounds easy to use.

Thank you.

hedy
Beginner
Beginner

Posts Posts : 1
Joined Joined : 2010-05-26
OS OS : xp pro
Points Points : 23891
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Samsung LA40B650 LCD TV Review

Post by hadi57 on 9th November 2011, 4:51 pm

Hi I've got a samsung LA40B650 LCD TV and yesterday I went to service menu and change some values and since the screen become dark and I know the av calibration and HDMI now are failure. please help me.

regards,
Zak

hadi57
Beginner
Beginner

Posts Posts : 1
Joined Joined : 2011-11-09
OS OS : windows xp sp3
Points Points : 18571
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum