F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

View previous topic View next topic Go down

F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by NorthernLites on Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:36 pm

Hi,
I ve recently removed thinkpoint from my laptop. i used the avast and then malwarebytes as well. everything was fine till i had to restart to install some updates. now i am stuck with windows boot manager that tell me i have an error. f8 wont let me go into safe mode, ctrl- alt - del. is not helping either (not sure if it should). i dont have a vista installation disk. i did back up my stuff though when thinkpoint struck, in desperation i ve even tried the factory recovery disc but nothing happens..
any sort of help would be appreciated greatly.

NorthernLites
Novice
Novice

Posts Posts : 12
Joined Joined : 2010-12-10
Gender Gender : Female
OS OS : Vista Home Premium
Points Points : 22012
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by Belahzur on Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:49 pm

Hello.

Download [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] by OldTimer to your Desktop.

  • Close all windows and double click OTL.exe
  • Click Run Scan and let the program run uninterrupted
  • It will produce two logs for you, one will pop up - OTL.txt, the other will be saved on your Desktop - Extras.txt. Post both logs in this thread.
  • You may need to use two posts to get it all.


[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] - [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] - Please PM me if I fail to respond within 24hrs.


Belahzur
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 34916
Joined Joined : 2008-08-03
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : XP SP3 Media Centre
Points Points : 245069
# Likes # Likes : 1

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by NorthernLites on Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:12 am

I cannot download anything as I cannot access my desktop.. the only thing i get is when i start up the laptop is, first the screen with bios and then the screen that has windows boot manager. i have been unable to do anything further than the boot manager screen. it is a never ending loop of two screens.
Thank you for answering so quickly :smile2:

NorthernLites
Novice
Novice

Posts Posts : 12
Joined Joined : 2010-12-10
Gender Gender : Female
OS OS : Vista Home Premium
Points Points : 22012
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by Belahzur on Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:41 pm

Hmm.

We are going to be using a Windows Recovery Environment to help disinfect the system so it may boot again.

Download the OTLPE Standard REATOGO Windows Recovery Environment.[LIST]
[*]Place a blank CD-R disc in to your CD burning drive.
[*]Download [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] and double-click on it to burn to a CD using ISO Burner.
[*]Reboot your system using the boot CD you just created.

Note : If you do not know how to set your computer to boot from CD follow the steps [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
[*]Your system should now display a REATOGO-X-PE desktop.
[*]Double-click on the OTLPE icon.
[*]When asked "Do you wish to load the remote registry", select Yes
[*]When asked "Do you wish to load remote user profile(s) for scanning", select Yes
[*]Ensure the box "Automatically Load All Remaining Users" is checked and press OK
[*]OTL should now start. Change the following settings

  • Change Drivers to Non-Microsoft
  • Press Run Scan to start the scan.
  • When finished, the file will be saved in drive C:\_OTL\MovedFiles
  • Copy this file to your USB drive if you do not have internet connection on this system
  • Please post the contents of the OTL.txt file in your reply.


[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] - [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] - Please PM me if I fail to respond within 24hrs.


Belahzur
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 34916
Joined Joined : 2008-08-03
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : XP SP3 Media Centre
Points Points : 245069
# Likes # Likes : 1

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by NorthernLites on Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:01 am

How would i go about downloading or giving instructions to download from a screen that is blank? And I am sure that i have made matters worse, i used F2 and went to the boot tab where i put CD/DVD on top and then used the two recovery discs provided by Toshiba. At the end of the second disc it says recovery error and ejects the disc.. and then tells me bootmgr is missing press ctrl- alt- del to restart,, i did that and it is now in a loop as it keeps going back to the same screen asking me to restart.

NorthernLites
Novice
Novice

Posts Posts : 12
Joined Joined : 2010-12-10
Gender Gender : Female
OS OS : Vista Home Premium
Points Points : 22012
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by Belahzur on Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:48 pm

I think the best course of action here would be to format the machine if you have the CD's provided to do this.


[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] - [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] - Please PM me if I fail to respond within 24hrs.


Belahzur
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 34916
Joined Joined : 2008-08-03
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : XP SP3 Media Centre
Points Points : 245069
# Likes # Likes : 1

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by NorthernLites on Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:24 pm

I did Smile i was able to find someone who had the cd for windows vista home premium.. now i have to find drivers for the laptop and figure out how to put the stuff i transferred to a key drive back to my laptop...
thank you. will let you know how it goes, am sure i will be back pleading for more help.

NorthernLites
Novice
Novice

Posts Posts : 12
Joined Joined : 2010-12-10
Gender Gender : Female
OS OS : Vista Home Premium
Points Points : 22012
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by Belahzur on Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:11 pm

Okay, I'm here if ya need me, just shout and I'll respond when I can.


[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] - [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] - Please PM me if I fail to respond within 24hrs.


Belahzur
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 34916
Joined Joined : 2008-08-03
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : XP SP3 Media Centre
Points Points : 245069
# Likes # Likes : 1

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by NorthernLites on Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:00 pm

hi again,
i am back to bug you. ok so i downloaded the driver, driver navigator for my laptop, it scans and says the remote name could not be resolved:db.drivernavigator.com. no idea what to do now : (

NorthernLites
Novice
Novice

Posts Posts : 12
Joined Joined : 2010-12-10
Gender Gender : Female
OS OS : Vista Home Premium
Points Points : 22012
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by NorthernLites on Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:34 pm



no, it keeps scanning and saying the same thing again.

NorthernLites
Novice
Novice

Posts Posts : 12
Joined Joined : 2010-12-10
Gender Gender : Female
OS OS : Vista Home Premium
Points Points : 22012
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by Belahzur on Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:04 pm

What driver(s) are you downloading? are you getting them from the company website?


[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] - [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] - Please PM me if I fail to respond within 24hrs.


Belahzur
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 34916
Joined Joined : 2008-08-03
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : XP SP3 Media Centre
Points Points : 245069
# Likes # Likes : 1

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by NorthernLites on Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:01 pm

Yes i have tried two different methods. one is to download the ones for the model no etc from toshiba website. that one is the one scanning. then i downloaded another one from realtek which is what i have according to the device manager.. that one has installed but nothing changed,, i still the various yellow exclamation marks.

NorthernLites
Novice
Novice

Posts Posts : 12
Joined Joined : 2010-12-10
Gender Gender : Female
OS OS : Vista Home Premium
Points Points : 22012
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by Belahzur on Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:57 pm

Hello.
It maybe worth posting in the hardware section of the GP forum, since that issue isn't malware related.


[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] - [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] - Please PM me if I fail to respond within 24hrs.


Belahzur
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 34916
Joined Joined : 2008-08-03
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : XP SP3 Media Centre
Points Points : 245069
# Likes # Likes : 1

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: F8 wont go to safemode on laptop with vista

Post by NorthernLites on Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:00 pm

Alright, I shall post it there. Thank you very much for your help so far.

NorthernLites
Novice
Novice

Posts Posts : 12
Joined Joined : 2010-12-10
Gender Gender : Female
OS OS : Vista Home Premium
Points Points : 22012
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum