Tuneup Utilities Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by groovybluedog on 16th August 2009, 8:28 pm

•Review - The review itself
- The Good - State good points about the product
- Drive Defrag, with a diagram, percentage, remaining time, and a bar.
- Registry Defrag
- Speed optimiser
- Tuneup startup manager
- Unnecessary Files And Backups Cleaner (THIS CLEARED 23.1 GB OFF MY HD IN A MONTH!)
- Registry Cleaner
- Uninstall Manager
- Shortcut cleaner, cleans invalid shortcuts
- Disk doctor
- Repair Wizard
- Undelete
- Styler
- System control
- Process Manager (can replace task manager)
- Registry editor
- Shredder
- System Info
- Rescue center
- CHEAP (and easy to get a free one... kinda not legal... not gonna say much... just you don’t have to pay!)

- The Bad - State bad points about the product
- Too easy to get a illegal version. Stupid aswell. My mate entered a forged serial number and every few days it asks for a real one, enter the same forged code and it works! For some this is good, but its kinda bad.
Nothing bad bad about it apart from above


•The bottom line - Give an overview on how the product is like

A cheap software to cleanup your system, customise it, and more. You can even change the boot screen, delete files you cant normally, Undelete something you deleted from the recycle bin, and defrags the registry. In a month i saved 23.1gb off my hard drive!!!!


•Rating - Total everything up and rate the product upon 10

100/10. YES, 1OO!!!!

groovybluedog
Novice
Novice

Posts Posts : 40
Joined Joined : 2009-07-10
OS OS : XP, Vista, Mac, 7, Linux and Unix (DONT GET UNIX!!!)
Points Points : 27148
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by Sir $wat on 17th August 2009, 3:47 am

i use it...



Sir $wat
Top Dog
Top Dog

Posts Posts : 2078
Joined Joined : 2008-08-16
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows XP Professional SP3
Protection Protection : Panda Cloud
Points Points : 34211
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by megatails5 on 17th August 2009, 8:08 am

is it really that good, so things you delete, aka you dont want to see them again, you can undelete to get them back?
Doesn't windows have a built in system for disk cleaning anyway?



megatails5
Senior
Senior

Posts Posts : 228
Joined Joined : 2009-03-16
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows Vista 64bit
Protection Protection : Malwarebytes, Windows Security Essentials
Points Points : 28900
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by Doctor Inferno on 17th August 2009, 8:12 am

The Disk cleaning utility built into Windows cleans limited areas. I use CCleaner to get rid of the junk.


Please be a GeekPolice fan on Facebook!



Have we helped you? Help us! | Doctor by day, ninja by night.

Doctor Inferno
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 11976
Joined Joined : 2007-12-26
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 Home Premium and Ultimate X64
Protection Protection : Kaspersky PURE and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
Points Points : 104640
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by groovybluedog on 17th August 2009, 2:29 pm

The tuneup also clears backups made by windows update and clears only and hidden restore points. Ccleaner doesnt do that nor does windows cleanup

groovybluedog
Novice
Novice

Posts Posts : 40
Joined Joined : 2009-07-10
OS OS : XP, Vista, Mac, 7, Linux and Unix (DONT GET UNIX!!!)
Points Points : 27148
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by Safan on 22nd August 2009, 5:22 pm

The problem with Tuneup Utilities is that it does not allow the drive to be bleached, unlike Privacy Guardian by PC Tools.

Other than that, it has a better interface and easier to use.

Safan
Master
Master

Posts Posts : 3290
Joined Joined : 2008-03-03
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 x64
Protection Protection : McAfee Security Center
Points Points : 40903
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by yar_imba on 22nd May 2010, 4:03 pm

help... i used tuneup disk doctor--it says there's a problem on one of my partitions and prompted me to restart the windows to complete the analysis but now the windows won't start up and the screen stays black with only blinking text cursor... is that how it really works and for how long will it stay like that... please enlighten me...

yar_imba
Beginner
Beginner

Posts Posts : 1
Joined Joined : 2010-05-22
OS OS : Windows XP
Points Points : 23941
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by Happyhunter on 19th September 2010, 8:06 am

i use 2007 i try'd 2010 and it deleted half my icons with out telling me Indifferent or Blank

Happyhunter
Senior
Senior

Posts Posts : 390
Joined Joined : 2010-07-09
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : XP
Protection Protection : Vipre Premium with firewall
Points Points : 24684
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by Disruption on 23rd December 2010, 5:17 pm

I use it I love it because it lists lots of problems and solutions Big Grin

Disruption
Senior
Senior

Posts Posts : 252
Joined Joined : 2010-12-02
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7
Points Points : 22973
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by Rodel Ituralde on 27th January 2011, 8:24 pm

I used to use Tuneup Utilities quite often on all my computers at home until it started to cause problems. : ( Now I just use a vast array of various tools to do what it once did in a few seconds.

Rodel Ituralde
Senior
Senior

Posts Posts : 387
Joined Joined : 2011-01-27
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 Home Edition 32-bit, Windows 7 Home Edition 64-bit and Ubuntu 10.4
Protection Protection : avast!, SpywareBlaster, MBAM
Points Points : 23042
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by Disruption on 1st February 2011, 12:29 am

@Rodel Ituralde wrote:I used to use Tuneup Utilities quite often on all my computers at home until it started to cause problems. : ( Now I just use a vast array of various tools to do what it once did in a few seconds.
Care to elaborate? What kind of problem?

Disruption
Senior
Senior

Posts Posts : 252
Joined Joined : 2010-12-02
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7
Points Points : 22973
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by Rodel Ituralde on 1st February 2011, 4:32 am

Care to elaborate? What kind of problem?

Sure thing. Smile

Initially I used only the basic features of the program (Defrag, Desktop and Logon Background changer, Internet Optimiser) but as I began to like the program I started to use more of its features. After a while though, I began to notice my computer's performance was decreasing (Internet started being slow, Windows took ages to boot, programs took ages to start and crashed with errors) and after some troubleshooting found Tuneup was the cause of my problem.

To begin with it was adding all these functions to start on startup which when I removed using Autoruns just kept coming back. It was also consuming high amounts of CPU (as so many instances of it were opening on startup) which was why my computer started crashing. On top of that its Task Manager was quitting processes required for my other programs (for example I opened up iTunes and in 2 minutes it crashed; I then went into Tuneup's Task Manager and saw it had cancelled the iTunes processes).

So I decided to uninstall Tuneup. And did that take some effort. For starters it refused to be uninstalled through Add or Remove Programs in the Control Panel because it claimed its processes were running. So naturally I went into Task Manager and quit them...and watched them come back before my own eyes...tried to stop them again...they came back again. After multiple attempts to stop them (keeping in mind I couldn't stop them at startup) I attempted to use Revo Uninstaller. After 3 attempts it got there. And my system went back to normal.

I decided that perhaps the copy of Tuneup I had was dodgy so I obtained a different copy but it had the same effect. Perhaps it was my machine that just didn't like Tuneup. Or perhaps I was just unlucky. Unfortunately it ruined the experience. Sad tearing

But I don't want my experience to deter other potential users. It is fantastic program and if you have no troubles when you use it, then enjoy. Right On!

Rodel Ituralde
Senior
Senior

Posts Posts : 387
Joined Joined : 2011-01-27
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 Home Edition 32-bit, Windows 7 Home Edition 64-bit and Ubuntu 10.4
Protection Protection : avast!, SpywareBlaster, MBAM
Points Points : 23042
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by Disruption on 10th February 2011, 1:00 am

@Rodel Ituralde wrote:
Care to elaborate? What kind of problem?

Sure thing. Smile

Initially I used only the basic features of the program (Defrag, Desktop and Logon Background changer, Internet Optimiser) but as I began to like the program I started to use more of its features. After a while though, I began to notice my computer's performance was decreasing (Internet started being slow, Windows took ages to boot, programs took ages to start and crashed with errors) and after some troubleshooting found Tuneup was the cause of my problem.

To begin with it was adding all these functions to start on startup which when I removed using Autoruns just kept coming back. It was also consuming high amounts of CPU (as so many instances of it were opening on startup) which was why my computer started crashing. On top of that its Task Manager was quitting processes required for my other programs (for example I opened up iTunes and in 2 minutes it crashed; I then went into Tuneup's Task Manager and saw it had cancelled the iTunes processes).

So I decided to uninstall Tuneup. And did that take some effort. For starters it refused to be uninstalled through Add or Remove Programs in the Control Panel because it claimed its processes were running. So naturally I went into Task Manager and quit them...and watched them come back before my own eyes...tried to stop them again...they came back again. After multiple attempts to stop them (keeping in mind I couldn't stop them at startup) I attempted to use Revo Uninstaller. After 3 attempts it got there. And my system went back to normal.

I decided that perhaps the copy of Tuneup I had was dodgy so I obtained a different copy but it had the same effect. Perhaps it was my machine that just didn't like Tuneup. Or perhaps I was just unlucky. Unfortunately it ruined the experience. Sad tearing

But I don't want my experience to deter other potential users. It is fantastic program and if you have no troubles when you use it, then enjoy. Right On!

I see what you mean. My first idea would have been to use Revo Uninstaller. I am assuming that it also had many registries involved as well seeing as the difficulty was quite high. I also would of tried removing it in safe mode considering that the program will most likely not boot at the time. But anyways I used it once and it seemed to do good till one morning, back to back blue screens.

I don't like the tool but there are many excellent features other companies should consider. Cheesy Grin (sparkly

Disruption
Senior
Senior

Posts Posts : 252
Joined Joined : 2010-12-02
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7
Points Points : 22973
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by Dr Jay on 7th March 2011, 7:59 pm

In evaluating this program recently, thanks to getting a free copy...I was not impressed.

The lack of control this program gives a user is horrendous. Maybe it's just me. But, I don't see how this program improves anything for someone of my caliber. (Gunsmoke)

Dr Jay
Head Administrator
Head Administrator

Posts Posts : 14310
Joined Joined : 2009-09-06
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 10 Home & Pro
Arch. Arch. : x64 (64-bit)
Protection Protection : Bitdefender Total Security
Points Points : 302971
# Likes # Likes : 10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by Kenny94 on 26th March 2011, 12:14 am

There has a been a lot of reported problems when using Tuneup Utilities!
Improperly removing registry entries is one of them. Removing the users valid folder. Run as fast as you can from this product!

Kenny94
Tech Officer
Tech Officer

Posts Posts : 2019
Joined Joined : 2010-04-22
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7
Protection Protection : Avira/Router and Malwarebytes
Points Points : 33551
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Tuneup Utilities Review

Post by Buttons on 26th March 2011, 5:14 am

I think one should stay away from all these high tech cleaners. They do more damage then good. I only recommend Ccleaner(not the registry part)as a good choice for cleaning more areas such as the windows update cache. Wink

Buttons
Leader's Leader
Leader's Leader

Posts Posts : 869
Joined Joined : 2010-06-11
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : 7 Ultimate x64
Points Points : 26326
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum