Top Ten Reviews....Agree?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Top Ten Reviews....Agree?

Post by CaliStaysHigh on Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:12 pm

would guys agree with this top ten list of anti virus?



http://anti-virus-software-review.toptenreviews.com/



i like how the set up is, and how they included 5 video reviews for the top 5.

CaliStaysHigh
Intermediate
Intermediate

Posts Posts : 73
Joined Joined : 2009-06-10
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Win XP
Points Points : 27423
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Top Ten Reviews....Agree?

Post by Doctor Inferno on Fri Jun 12, 2009 2:51 am

Disagree. I can tell that the reviews are funded by cash because the positions for those antivirus ratings has been the same for the past three years. I also personally think Kaspersky and NOD32 should be in the top 2, don't know why bitdefender and webroot can have their positions there.


Please be a GeekPolice fan on Facebook!



Have we helped you? Help us! | Doctor by day, ninja by night.

Doctor Inferno
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 12017
Joined Joined : 2007-12-26
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 Home Premium and Ultimate X64
Protection Protection : Kaspersky PURE and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
Points Points : 104584
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Antivirus Software Reviews

Post by desperatesusanseeking on Fri Aug 21, 2009 1:04 pm

I don't know what was on the link queried by the previous GP member, but maybe you can give me some feedback/review on an anti-virus software I've heard about from several people. That is: AVG.

Supposedly it's a free download, but I'm so leary of anything "free" off the Internet now. Can you please advise the efficacy and/or legitimacy of AVG for security against viruses, etc.?

Also, what are the differences among (a) spyware, (b) anti-virus software, and (c) malware? Is there an all-in-one program to protect the pc? If so, what would it be?

Also, exactly why do they call it "malware" -- what's a "mal?" Hey, I'm 56... I'm allowed to ask stupid questions. Let me think

Thank you!

desperatesusanseeking
Beginner
Beginner

Posts Posts : 3
Joined Joined : 2009-08-21
Gender Gender : Female
OS OS : Vista
Points Points : 26623
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Top Ten Reviews....Agree?

Post by Safan on Fri Aug 21, 2009 1:18 pm

malware stands for malicious software

Spyware is stuff like keyloggers which spies on your computer basically
Malware have the intent to gain money or access to account and such
Viruses I think just cause damage to the computer

I'm not 100% sure but that's roughly the difference.

AVG is considered not very good by many people because of false positives and unable to disinfect files. I use it on one of my laptops because it was the only free one which worked with Windows 7 when it first came out.

I think Avira AntiVir may be a better choice from what I've heard

I think I'll let someone who has more knowledge clarify this.

Safan
Master
Master

Posts Posts : 3292
Joined Joined : 2008-03-03
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 x64
Protection Protection : McAfee Security Center
Points Points : 40843
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Top Ten Reviews....Agree?

Post by Doctor Inferno on Fri Aug 21, 2009 3:19 pm

GP staff recommends Avira AntiVir as a free antivirus solution, linked by Safan above. AVG is well known for false positives.

There are all-in-one softwares, but they don't come free. So, you will have to get them separately. For a general anti-spyware, I would recommend Super Antispyware and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.

I found a good article to distinguish the difference between antispyware and antivirus here: http://www.webopedia.com/DidYouKnow/Internet/2008/antivirus_antispyware.asp


Please be a GeekPolice fan on Facebook!



Have we helped you? Help us! | Doctor by day, ninja by night.

Doctor Inferno
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 12017
Joined Joined : 2007-12-26
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 Home Premium and Ultimate X64
Protection Protection : Kaspersky PURE and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
Points Points : 104584
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Top Ten Reviews....Agree?

Post by Doctor Inferno on Sat Aug 22, 2009 5:45 am

Ah. I discovered a post posted way back:

All about Malware - http://www.geekpolice.net/computer-security-f27/all-about-malware-t39.htm


Please be a GeekPolice fan on Facebook!



Have we helped you? Help us! | Doctor by day, ninja by night.

Doctor Inferno
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 12017
Joined Joined : 2007-12-26
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 Home Premium and Ultimate X64
Protection Protection : Kaspersky PURE and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
Points Points : 104584
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Top Ten Reviews....Agree?

Post by Xenos on Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:34 pm

don't know why bitdefender and webroot can have their positions there.

Doc...

in the top 10, in your opinion where would you say bitdefender stands?

i use Bitdefender Internet Security 2009 (Bought Versions) on both my systems, and i have always found it to be good, in a security point of view.

The only problem i have with it, is the resources it uses, but considering i have the settings on the strictest possible, i was able to live with that (at first, lol)

it severely affects my boot up times on both systems, and can defiantly notice the lack of performance once installed -
Main sys = quad core @ 3.4 4gb ram
Laptop = dual core @ 2.2 4gb ram

i have my license for about another 9 months, and after that i am looking to consider something abit lighter on the system, but a all in one security.

any suggestions?


Main System Spec: Intel Quad Q9550 (OC to 3.4Ghz), Gigabyte Ga-ep45-ud3l, 4gb kingston hyperX @ 1066mhz, Corsair tx 650, Nvidia 8600GT.


Xenos
Intermediate
Intermediate

Posts Posts : 180
Joined Joined : 2009-08-09
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7
Points Points : 27204
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Top Ten Reviews....Agree?

Post by Doctor Inferno on Thu Aug 27, 2009 1:00 pm

I have tried out BitDefender before, but not the recent versions. But I can say that in my opinoin it definitely won't be the top two because Kaspersky and NOD32 would have their positions up there in first and second.

And yeah, at the time I tested BitDefender there's a significant notice in the computer's performance. It's not really necessary to have the tip-top settings on if you practice good surfing habits and stay away from p2p.

For a all-in-one security, I would go for Kaspersky Internet Security as my first choice, and ESET Smart Security as a second. What I like about these two security softwares are that they are extremely light on the system, the detection rates are good and false positives are really low.

One good thing about Kaspersky is that is seems to scan everything, and I mean everything. When testing malware samples in VMware, Kaspersky can even pick up threats from inside and block suspicious connections (not sure if ESET does this).


Please be a GeekPolice fan on Facebook!



Have we helped you? Help us! | Doctor by day, ninja by night.

Doctor Inferno
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 12017
Joined Joined : 2007-12-26
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 Home Premium and Ultimate X64
Protection Protection : Kaspersky PURE and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
Points Points : 104584
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Top Ten Reviews....Agree?

Post by Xenos on Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:31 pm

Thank You! i will look into Kaspersky Smile


Main System Spec: Intel Quad Q9550 (OC to 3.4Ghz), Gigabyte Ga-ep45-ud3l, 4gb kingston hyperX @ 1066mhz, Corsair tx 650, Nvidia 8600GT.


Xenos
Intermediate
Intermediate

Posts Posts : 180
Joined Joined : 2009-08-09
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7
Points Points : 27204
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Top Ten Reviews....Agree?

Post by desperatesusanseeking on Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:49 am

Thanks a lot, guys! Smile This is a lot for me to consider. Let me think

My security software subscription to MS OneCare terminates mid-September so I have to decide whether to renew it or go with a different security program. Do I have this correct: Avira AntiVir is FREE, and Kaspersky costs $$ ?? My computer is in my home -- leisure use -- so would Kaspersky be "overkill" for someone like me? (I have purchased items online using PayPal and previously using my c.c. number.) Also, is it true that you cannot have two security programs running simultaneously or they may "cancel" each other out?

Thank you again. :smile2:

desperatesusanseeking
Beginner
Beginner

Posts Posts : 3
Joined Joined : 2009-08-21
Gender Gender : Female
OS OS : Vista
Points Points : 26623
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Top Ten Reviews....Agree?

Post by Doctor Inferno on Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:06 am

I tested and found that most antivirus work hand in hand today when two are installed. In the past, installing two antivirus programs could render your system unable to boot, or it will simply take forever to boot up.

But it is still not recommended, the outcome can't be predicted. The antivirus softwares will conflict with each other can cause system problems.

You can try the trial Kaspersky and Avira, see which suites you better.


Please be a GeekPolice fan on Facebook!



Have we helped you? Help us! | Doctor by day, ninja by night.

Doctor Inferno
Administrator
Administrator

Posts Posts : 12017
Joined Joined : 2007-12-26
Gender Gender : Male
OS OS : Windows 7 Home Premium and Ultimate X64
Protection Protection : Kaspersky PURE and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
Points Points : 104584
# Likes # Likes : 0

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum